Not All Millennials Suck

Millennials.

All I have to do is say the word and I’m sure you’ve garnered a mental image of a rainbow haired twenty-something complaining about social justice and being nostalgic for the nineties. Or maybe you thought up some shabby sop on a skateboard who keeps quitting jobs to move in with his mom because they’re too difficult or don’t pay a high enough minimum wage.

Or perhaps you simply think of a millennial as someone between the ages of twenty and thirty-five. After all, trying to lump the largest generation in history into a very confined and negative stereotype is truly impossible. Yet, that is what the majority of the internet does. The baby boomers and Gen Xers do it, and we do it to ourselves. (Thanks Buzzfeed.)

Excuse the sarcasm, but I am sick of being lumped into the same category as Bernie Sanders worshippers, Kardashian groupies, and whoever this is:

trump no lad.gif

Millennials Aren’t Perfect, But Neither Is Anyone Else

Millennials seem to take a lot of crap from older generations as well as members of their own. We’re called entitled, lazy cry-babies. We’re told we haven’t added anything of value to this world except the participation trophy mentality. We’re even told that America has no future because of us. Ouch.

I’m not saying that these kinds of people don’t exist. Of course, they do. They live among us! However, these SJW basement dwellers are a minority. Albeit, a very vocal and attention-desperate minority, but a minority nonetheless.

Furthermore, who raised those entitled, lazy cry-babies? Which generation invented participation trophies? It certainly wasn’t us. If we are as bad as some social media posts claim, then aren’t Gen X and the Baby Boomers just as bad?

While I am not among the throngs of criers and whiners, I would like to say something to all the older generations:

I’m sorry.

I’m sorry that I complain more than I should.

I’m sorry that I often talk about how difficult life can be.

I’m sorry I’m on my phone all the time.

I’m sorry I don’t have it all figured out.

I’m sorry I’m not part of a generation that was as mature as yours.

I mean, after all, you entered your twenties with all the maturity, dignity, and wisdom of someone with decades of life experience.

Or at least that’s how you act.

Like I’ve said, my generation has plenty of losers in it, but most of us are not the safe space, trigger word, spoiled, entitled pansies you keep addressing with your passive aggressive Facebook posts.

Yes, most of us still complain. Yes, we freak out about our future sometimes. Yes, we can act entitled. Yes we care way too much about Twitter, Instagram, and Starbucks. Yes, we can be immature and just plain stupid sometimes.

But that’s because we’re young!

Take a good, hard look at how you were when you were our age. Be honest with yourself. Were you even a little bit entitled? Stupid? Immature? Foolish? Selfish?

Shocker! Most of us are at 21!

Maybe you’ve forgotten what it was like to be young and stupid, ready to take on the world but having no idea how to do so.

Continue to call out the losers in my generation, but stop lumping us together. In fact, let’s take it a step further. Reach out to people younger than you. Teach them what you wish you had known at 21, 25, 30, or even 40. Tell us what we’re doing wrong and acknowledge what we’re doing right. We have a lot to learn. And we could use your help.

We Can Do Better

To my fellow millennials:

Stop giving everyone a reason to hate us!

I know most of you are legitimately doing your best. I know that it feels like the whole world is against you. But guess what? You aren’t that important!

Yes, life is hard. Yes, we have unique challenges that our parents and grandparents didn’t have to face. We are also very blessed to live in an era of unprecedented technological advancement and social equality. Don’t take that for granted. Let’s use it to be the world-changers we aspire to be!

Millennials are not so different from the generations that came before them. We’re just figuring out life the same way our parents and grandparents did at our age. Just in a vastly changed world full of social media, a changing economy, and a more connected world.

So keep pointing out the ridiculous, entitled, and foolish in our generation. Just stop lumping me and the level-headed millennials in with this person:

trump no lad.gif

Leave a Reply

