We Need Rest

Resting on the Wheel

The alarm buzzes. I groan. The sun is barely peaking over the mountains around my campus, but the alarm doesn’t really seem to care. I wrestle with my tiredness, climb down from my bunk bed, and turn off the alarm. After struggling to get a shower and get dressed in something remotely presentable, I stumbled out the door. Then I rush back in, remembering I forgot my wallet, or my phone, or my keys, or my backpack. After running from class, to class, to convocation, to a brief lunch, and to more classes, I reenter my room, ready to relax and forget all of the work that has rushed me all day. Then I remember. I have homework! So instead of kicking back and watching Netflix, I spend a few hours writing essays, taking online quizzes and reading articles and chapters.

May I just say that being a student may be worse than an actual job. You don’t get paid; you have to pay! (Or your parents do. Thanks Mom and Dad!) And when you’re finally done running from class to class, you have to do homework! But that’s beside the point I’m trying to make.

Life is really stressful. So stressful that I forget that I need to rest, and I mean really rest. What I mean by that is that sometimes we define rest as watching television or listening to our Spotify or iTunes playlist. We college students don’t typically think of rest as being quiet, unless it involves sleep, of course. But being quiet is often exactly what we need sometimes. As Christians we often fail to think of Jesus as a place to rest as much as we should. We think of Him as another thing on our checklist, to ask things from or to serve at our local church. Of course, we should definitely serve Him and ask for things in His name, but sometimes, serving Him becomes more of a chore rather than a form of worship. Maybe, we should stop what we’re doing, just for a minute or two, to be still before God. We often get so caught up in performing our duties for God or others that we forget to love Him, to really pour out our love before Him as an offering.

Maybe we just need to spend some time resting in Jesus, enjoying His presence, rather than just working for Him.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.
– Matthew 28:11

If we get to this point of real rest, we’ll be better workers for God and will be able to serve Him and others more fully. Then we can truly worship Him in our work and our rest, no matter what that entails.

Leave a Reply

